latenergy.blogg.se

Arch linux macbook air 2017 install
Arch linux macbook air 2017 install






arch linux macbook air 2017 install arch linux macbook air 2017 install
  1. #ARCH LINUX MACBOOK AIR 2017 INSTALL INSTALL#
  2. #ARCH LINUX MACBOOK AIR 2017 INSTALL UPGRADE#

  • You can skip the step about installing Grub because rEFInd already takes careīefore rebooting make sure you've installed the packages required for making.
  • Running the DHCP client manually is only for the installation process,Īfterwards you can use NetworkManager to do an easier setup. Then running the following commands: wpa_supplicant -i INTERFACE \ Network, first get the name of the network interface by running ip link and Installing Arch Linux requires an internet connection.

    arch linux macbook air 2017 install

    For the base Arch installation you can following the Arch Wiki Installation.Once you boot from it, delete HFS partition you've created in the previous stepĪnd create two partitions: "/" and "swap" (You can create other if you wish, I Restart your Mac with the USB disk inserted and you'll see it in the rEFInd boot

    #ARCH LINUX MACBOOK AIR 2017 INSTALL INSTALL#

    Install Arch Linuxĭownload the Arch Linux ISO and put it on USB disk (I used Rufus). Which will allow to boot from Linux partition and from USB disks. Once rEFInd is installed you'll have a new boot menu whenever you start your Mac Made the main 20GB smaller to make space for the Linux partition).Īfterwards, download and install the rEFInd boot manager (I had to boot I'm dual-booting Arch Linux and OS X from the internal SSD.įirst, from OS X, resize your main partition and create a secondary partition (I Have enough time to plug it in, I need to setup proper warnings). Low battery warnings (Once I reached 2% the machine just shut off, I didn't.Instructions in the Arch Linux wiki, I haven't tried them yet). Proper lock-on-lid-close (I'm currently using xscreensaver to lock the screenīut it doesn't seem to be fully synced with the lid-close event, there are.It's not perfect, but I think overall it's better the OS X experience. I've been using it for about a week and it's amazing, much better than IĮxpected. Workstation at work (from a Mac Pro) and started using i3 again whichĮmphasized to me how terrible window management is on OS X. Window Management - Ever since I moved to Mac I've been missing the i3.

    #ARCH LINUX MACBOOK AIR 2017 INSTALL UPGRADE#

  • Performance - after the last OS X upgrade it's become sluggish and.







  • Arch linux macbook air 2017 install